2016 Reading Challenge

Happy New Year!

Now faced with a pile of 24 novels to read in 12 months I’m a little intimidated by some of my choices. I’ve found it difficult to find 24 novels in my collection that I have fancy to read, some of them are wild cards because I’ve owned them for a while. Some of them I have no idea where they came from but they are now in my possession. Some of them are novels I should’ve read for university but never quite managed it.

image

  1. The Hogfather – Pratchett
  2. Christmas Books– Dickens
  3. Sexing the Cherry – Winterson
  4. Farewell to Summer – Bradbury
  5. The Wasp Factory – Banks
  6. Pollen – Noon
  7. The Thousand Splendid Suns – Hosseini
  8. A Wizard of Earth Sea – Le Guin
  9. Far From the Madding Crowd – Hardy
  10. Mrs Dalloway – Woolf
  11. A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man – Joyce
  12. She Came to Stay – Beauvior
  13. The Vinland Sagas – The Norse Discovery of America
  14. The Silence of the Lambs – Harris
  15. Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass – Carrol
  16. The Sleeper Awakes – Wells
  17. Jane Eyre – Bronte
  18. Wide Sargasso Sea – Rhys
  19. The Lonely Londoners – Selvon
  20. Walking On Glass – Banks
  21. Around the World in Eighty Days – Verne
  22. Guilliver’s Travels – Swift
  23. Journey to the Centre of the Earth – Verne
  24. Coming up for Air – Orwell

There are some stories behind these novels, but we’ll get to those as I get through them, or we may not depending on how this blog evolves. I’m expecting it to change and grow as I get used to blogging. So bare with, some of this road will be uncertain to start with.

I am going to add this list of novels to a page on this blog which you will find on the navigation bar somewhere. I’ll also include links and strikeouts when they’re read so you can follow my progress. I’m sure at some point I will also reorder this as I read more and more off this list.

I’m not sure how exactly I’m going to go through this pile, I was going to do it some sort of order, but honestly I have a feeling I wouldn’t stick to that very well anyhow. I have a novel to finish from last year actually before I get started on this list, ‘Something Wicked this Way Comes’ by Ray Bradbury and I’m sad to say that its taking me a while to read as I’ve been rather distracted lately.

But given as I’ve been working rather hard this afternoon I think its only fitting I get to sit and read all evening and try to crack on.

Leave a Reply

